A deposit at a US bank is the one large US holding a nonresident can keep outside the US estate tax. The same $500,000 held in US company shares is taxed at death on everything above $60,000, while a $500,000 certificate of deposit held directly at the bank is not part of the US estate at all, as long as the account has nothing to do with a US business. The interest is generally free of US income tax for the same depositor, and an FDIC-insured bank covers a nonresident up to $250,000 per bank, for each ownership category, on the same terms as a citizen.
Finding a bank that will open the account is the harder part. The directory below lists 44 institutions whose own websites or account documents say they take customers who are not US citizens or residents, with each institution’s words quoted and linked. Of those, 32 are FDIC-insured banks, 11 of them in Florida, 9 are credit unions, 1 is an uninsured international bank in Miami, and 2 are brokerages. Most of these banks do not publish the rate a nonresident gets. A bank’s posted CD rate is usually for US customers only, and the international rate comes from a banker by phone. Eligibility also changes as banks are sold and programs close, so every row shows the date its quote was checked, most recently September 24, 2026.
No institution pays to be listed, the page carries no affiliate links, and a listing is not a recommendation of any institution.
How to open
Opens remotely means the institution’s own pages say an account can be opened online, by app, by email or by mail. Through a banker means the institution asks applicants to contact a banker and does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask before traveling. How each account is opened is our reading of the institution’s own words, which are quoted under each listing, and none was confirmed by calling the institution.
FDIC-Insured Banks That Accept Nonresidents
Of the 32 insured banks, 23 describe their nonresident customers in general terms, 3 accept customers only from a published list of countries, and 6 serve Canadian residents specifically. Four of the Canadian-owned banks let a customer of the Canadian parent open the US account from Canada, TD requires a visit to one of its US branches, and Titan Bank opens business accounts only, for US companies with Canadian owners. Two rows reach the depositor through another company. Column opens accounts only through the apps built on it, and the BTG Pactual account for residents of Brazil and Chile is held at Regent Bank. A bank’s domestic CD special usually excludes nonresidents, so the rate column in the downloads says when a published rate is limited to US customers.
Abacus Federal Savings Bank
New York, NY · FDIC insured
Who it accepts
Nonresidents generally. Foreign nationals (Foreign National Elite Banking)
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Contact the bank (loan officers at (212) 285-4770; branches in New York, Flushing, Philadelphia)
Minimum
A minimum balance avoids a $50 monthly fee on the Foreign Elite Account (amount not stated)
In the institution’s own words
“Foreign National Elite Banking Services for you and your family. Wherever you are, we are here to take care of your U.S. banking needs.” Source
The page sits under Loans and lists the deposit service without detail. Abacus Federal Savings Bank.
Nonresidents generally. International customers, with a separate international CD product
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Phone or branch (international CD is not offered online)
Minimum
International CD $10,000; terms 3 to 60 months
In the institution’s own words
“the Bank is obligated to withhold taxes on U.S. interest to foreign customers unless it has received a properly completed Substitute Form W-8BEN” Source
The page also states the minimum opening deposit is $10,000 and a $250,000 limit per account.
Nonresidents generally. Non-US citizens who are not US permanent residents
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online for Banco do Brasil S.A. clients; in person at a branch for others
Minimum
Not stated on the page
In the institution’s own words
“Non-U.S. Citizens or Non-U.S. Permanent Residents I have an account at Banco do Brasil S.A. Open Your Account I have account in other banks Visit A BBA Branch” Source
Savings, money market and CDs are listed in the site section for non-US citizens and non-permanent residents.
Nonresidents generally. Individuals who live outside Puerto Rico
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Contact the International Banking Center in San Juan by phone ((787) 723-7210 or 723-7216)
Minimum
Not stated
In the institution’s own words
“The International Banking Center serves banking relationships with individual clients who reside outside of Puerto Rico and commercial clients who are registered in other countries with operations outside the island.” Source
Banco Popular de Puerto Rico. "Outside of Puerto Rico" also covers the US mainland. The page redirected on a later read; the text is kept from the screen fetch.
Nonresidents generally. Non-US citizens, including nonresident aliens with a foreign address and a US mailing address
How to open
US branch visit required. In person. In person at a financial center, by appointment
Minimum
Not stated on the page
In the institution’s own words
“If you are a non-resident alien (NRA), you'll need to provide both a physical foreign address and U.S. mailing address, as well as two unexpired forms of identification (ID) and a tax identification number (if applicable).” Source
The page describes checking and savings; CDs are not named on it.
Residents of listed countries. Residents of Brazil and Chile who are BTG Pactual clients
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online, inside the BTG Pactual Banking or Investments app (existing BTG Pactual clients)
Minimum
Not stated
In the institution’s own words
“If you live in Brazil or Chile and are not a U.S. resident, you may be eligible for a U.S. dollar investment account with BTG Pactual, including a debit card and digital banking.” Source
The International Accounts page says the banking account is provided by Regent Bank, member FDIC, in partnership with Banco BTG Pactual S.A., so the deposit sits at Regent Bank, not at BTG Pactual Bank, N.A. Home page APY footnote applies to US citizens and resident aliens.
Nonresidents generally. Verified non-US individuals, only through partner platforms
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Only through fintech or platform partners built on Column's API; Column does not open accounts directly for consumers
Minimum
Set by the platform
In the institution’s own words
“Now you can open US accounts for verified non-US individuals and businesses” Source
Column National Association is a bank-as-a-service provider. A depositor reaches it only through a partner app, and deposit insurance may be pass-through, depending on the platform's recordkeeping.
Nonresidents generally. International customers; wording aimed at newcomers to the US
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Remote account opening for eligible customers; branch
Minimum
"Low minimum deposit requirements" (no figure)
In the institution’s own words
“From opening your first U.S. bank account to buying a home and building your financial future, we offer personalized services designed for international customers.” Source
Wording targets newcomers to the US (work, study, family, investment). Whether a person living abroad can open remotely is not stated; ask the bank.
Canadian residents. Canadians, online for caisse Desjardins members
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online for caisse Desjardins members and existing customers; branch otherwise
Minimum
Not stated on the page
In the institution’s own words
“If you are already a member of caisse Desjardins or a customer of Desjardins Bank, you can open an account online within 15 minutes.” Source
The page is titled Cross-border banking for Canadians in Florida.
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Call the Customer Care Center first (1-800-738-2265), then open an account
Minimum
Not stated
In the institution’s own words
“You will also need to fill out a W-8 when opening an account.” Source
The FAQ question is 'If I'm not a U.S. citizen, can I open an account with your bank?' and the answer begins 'Yes.' First American Bank and Trust, Vacherie, Louisiana.
Nonresidents generally. Individuals and businesses with global financial interests
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Contact the international team (web form); branches in Miami-Dade
Minimum
Not stated
In the institution’s own words
“At Grove Bank & Trust, we provide comprehensive international banking solutions tailored to meet the unique needs of individuals and businesses with global financial interests.” Source
Grove Bank & Trust, Miami. The page does not use the word nonresident; ask whether people living abroad can open remotely.
Nonresidents generally. International individuals and organizations (the page does not use the word nonresident)
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Relationship manager
Minimum
CD $10,000 (terms 30 days to 60 months); HelmFlex 12-month CD $100,000
In the institution’s own words
“Our business model offers multiple financial products and services to our customers from over 60 countries in South & Central America, Europe, Asia & Middle East, North America and the Caribbean.” Source
CD minimums from https://www.helmbankusa.com/personal/deposits. A sale of the bank to Banco de Credito del Peru was reported as pending in 2026; recheck the owner.
Residents of listed countries. Applicants located in the countries and regions HSBC lists (45 outside the US on the date checked)
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online, sole accounts
Minimum
Not stated in the FAQ
In the institution’s own words
“You can apply online for a sole account if: You're at least 18 years old You have a Social Security Number, or, you're able to complete a valid tax certificate as part of your application” Source
Countries listed include Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Israel, Mexico, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Some published CD rates are for existing Premier customers.
Nonresidents generally. International customers, chiefly from Mexico
How to open
US branch visit required. In person. Branch or IBC representative
Minimum
International CD $2,500; $40,000 for terms under 90 days; terms 60 days to 4 years
In the institution’s own words
“Our strong reputation with businesses and citizens of Mexico gives us the relationships and depth of experience to ensure that the interests of our international customers are fully protected.” Source
International CD terms from https://www.ibc.com/international/savings/certificates-of-deposit.
Nonresidents generally. International customers certifying foreign status on Form W-8BEN
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Not stated in the agreement; contact the bank
Minimum
Not stated in the agreement
In the institution’s own words
“If you are an International Customer, your signatures (including on the IRS Forms W-8BEN or W-8BEN-E) certify to us that you are neither a citizen nor resident of the United States.” Source
The quote is from the bank's Deposit Account Agreement, which has sections for international customers only.
Canadian residents. Customers identified at a National Bank of Canada branch
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Remote, after identification at a National Bank of Canada branch; e-signature
Minimum
Not stated on the page
In the institution’s own words
“You want to open an account in Florida? All you have to do is identify yourself at one of the branches of the National Bank of Canada.” Source
Nonresidents generally. International personal clients with a foreign passport or cedula
How to open
US branch visit required. In person. In person at a branch
Minimum
International Personal CD $2,500
In the institution’s own words
“International Personal Certificate of Deposit (CD) Put money away for the long term. Visit a branch to open” Source
The same page lists as required documents a foreign passport, cedula or other government-issued photo ID, proof of address, and a written bank reference or three months of statements.
Nonresidents generally. Nonresident and resident aliens, in person only
How to open
US branch visit required. In person. In person at a branch or identified in person by a bank employee
Minimum
Not stated in the FAQ
In the institution’s own words
“Non-U.S. citizens (non-resident and resident aliens) may be able to open an account in person at one of our branch locations and/or identified in person by a Bank employee.” Source
Branches in Maryland, Virginia and Washington DC. The wording is 'may be able to', so confirm before travelling.
Canadian residents. People living in Canada or the US
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online with a Canadian SIN and ID
Minimum
Not stated on the page
In the institution’s own words
“To open an RBC Bank U.S. account, you don't need to be a resident of the U.S., a U.S. address or Social Security number. You simply need to be 18 years or older and live in Canada or the U.S.” Source
A credit union can take only members, and each one defines who may join, so the membership column matters as much as the eligibility text. Several are open only to an employer or university community, such as Chevron, Harvard and the United Nations. Alliant takes anyone who joins its foundation, but a member living abroad needs a Social Security number or an ITIN. NCUA share insurance covers each member up to $250,000 per ownership category. The estate tax rule that keeps bank deposits out of a nonresident’s US estate refers to deposits with persons carrying on the banking business and does not name credit unions, and no ruling says whether a credit union account qualifies.
Advancial Federal Credit Union
Dallas, TX · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Only through a qualifying employer, organization or family tie
Who may join
Employees or members of a partner organization, family of members, or those who live, work, worship or attend school in a served community
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Paper application with photocopied ID (mail or branch); not online
Minimum
Not stated on the form
In the institution’s own words
“Non-U.S. citizens: Provide color photocopies of your valid passport” Source
Advancial Federal Credit Union, Dallas. The FAQ says online applicants must be US citizens or permanent resident aliens.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Alliant Credit Union
Chicago, IL · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Yes, through the Foundation, but only with an SSN or ITIN
Who may join
Partner employers, family of members, residents near Chicago, or anyone who joins the Alliant Credit Union Foundation (Alliant pays the $5 fee)
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online (digital credit union, no branches)
Minimum
Certificate $1,000 (Jumbo $75,000); savings dividend needs a $100 average balance
In the institution’s own words
“Note for non-US residents: You can apply to join if you live outside the U.S. and have a Social Security Number or a valid ITIN (Individual Taxpayer Identification Number).” Source
A nonresident without an SSN or ITIN cannot join. The site refuses scripted requests; the quote was read in a browser on 2026-09-24.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Chevron Federal Credit Union
Concord, CA · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Only Chevron employees (foreign nationals working for Chevron, including outside the US)
Who may join
Chevron employees and families, partner associations, some residency areas
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Expat Services team (phone or email); proof of Chevron employment
Minimum
Member Checking has no minimum balance
In the institution’s own words
“Foreign nationals working for Chevron both inside and outside the U.S. can utilize a range of Chevron Federal Credit Union products and services.” Source
Minors need an SSN or ITIN for youth savings.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Compass Credit Union
Sparta, MI · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Only with a work, worship or school tie to those counties
Who may join
Live, work, worship or attend school in Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola or Ottawa County, Michigan, or Palm Beach County, Florida
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online membership form or branch
Minimum
$25 checking
In the institution’s own words
“At Compass Credit Union, we believe everyone deserves access to safe, trusted financial services” Source
The same sentence continues "including non-U.S. citizens and non-residents." The page lists a foreign passport as an accepted primary ID. Read in a browser 2026-09-24.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Harvard Federal Credit Union
Cambridge, MA · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Only Harvard-affiliated students (before arrival); scholars and fellows must be in the US
Who may join
Harvard University and its teaching hospitals (students, employees, affiliates and family)
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online application or DocuSign for students without SSN and US address; branch for scholars and fellows after arrival
Minimum
$5 savings
In the institution’s own words
“You do not need a Social Security number (SSN) or to be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident to become an Harvard FCU member.” Source
Will not open accounts for citizens living in US-sanctioned countries. Family members without an SSN do not qualify.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Municipal Credit Union
New York, NY · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Only with an NYC work, worship or school tie, and the application must be finished at a branch
Who may join
Live, work, worship or attend school in New York City
How to open
US branch visit required. In person. Start online, finish in person at an NYC branch
Municipal Credit Union. The residency selector offers 'I am a Non-Resident Alien' next to 'U.S. Citizen or Permanent Resident'.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Red River Employees Federal Credit Union
Texarkana, TX · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Members without US-issued ID; open to anyone who joins the American Consumer Council, which the credit union enrolls at no cost (Louisiana residents ineligible for that route)
Who may join
Red River Army Depot employees and contractors; people who live, work, worship or attend school in listed underserved communities; American Consumer Council or Cornerstone Credit Union Foundation members; immediate family of members
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online or at a branch (the page says some restrictions apply to eSignature)
Minimum
$5 minimum balance plus $5 membership fee
In the institution’s own words
“Our Foreign National checking account is for members who don’t have a U.S. standard-issue form of identification.” Source
Program aimed at immigrants (Juntos Avanzamos). Whether someone living abroad can join is not stated; ask before applying. Membership page read in a browser 2026-09-24.
Checked 2026-09-24.
UARK Federal Credit Union
Fayetteville, AR · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Yes, through the Humane Society of the Ozarks option, but only in person at a branch
Who may join
Live, work, worship, attend school, own a business or volunteer in Fayetteville; select employee groups; family of members; or a $25 Humane Society of the Ozarks donation
How to open
US branch visit required. In person. In person at a branch in Fayetteville, Arkansas
Minimum
$5 membership savings deposit
In the institution’s own words
“If you are not a U.S. citizen, not a U.S. resident, or under 18, you'll need to join by visiting a local branch.” Source
Checked 2026-09-24.
United Nations Federal Credit Union
Long Island City, NY · NCUA insured
Who it accepts
Only people in the UN community
Who may join
Employees, retirees, consultants and volunteers of the United Nations and affiliated agencies (including the World Bank and IMF), and their family and household members
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online application with uploaded documents
Minimum
$25 membership share
In the institution’s own words
“Your social security number if you are a US taxpayer, or your tax identification number if you are not a US taxpayer” Source
Out of scope in the 2026-09-24 sample directory because it is a credit union.
Checked 2026-09-24.
International Banks With No FDIC Insurance
Miami has banks chartered by the Federal Reserve for international business, called Edge corporations, and Federal Reserve rules let them take checking, savings and time deposits from foreign persons. Deposits at an Edge corporation are not FDIC insured. A deposit there appears to fall under the same estate tax rule as a deposit at an insured bank, because the statute asks whether the institution carries on a banking business rather than whether it is insured, but no ruling addresses the point. Two Miami Edge corporations appear in the Federal Reserve’s March 2026 list, and one is listed here because its own site describes its international clients.
Banco Santander International
Miami, FL · Not FDIC insured
Who it accepts
Nonresidents generally. Private banking clients across several countries
How to open
Through a banker. The institution does not say whether a visit is needed, so ask. Private banker
Minimum
Not stated on the page
In the institution’s own words
“Santander Private Banking International (SPBI) is our platform through which we provide services in a variety of countries and jurisdictions.” Source
Listed as EDGE CORP-BANKING, Miami, in the Federal Reserve's Structure and Share Data for U.S. Offices of Foreign Banks (March 2026). No FDIC certificate in BankFind. Deposits are not FDIC insured.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Brokerages That Accept Nonresidents
A brokerage that accepts nonresidents can buy CDs issued by many banks, whatever each bank’s own eligibility rules say. The estate tax treatment is less clear. No regulation, IRS ruling or court decision says whether a CD held in a brokerage account keeps the bank deposit exclusion, and cash swept into a US money market fund inside the account is US property that is taxed. Neither brokerage below states on the page quoted whether its CDs are FDIC insured. The guide to US estate tax for non-resident aliens sets out the possible readings.
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc. (Charles Schwab International)
Westlake, TX · Brokerage
Who it accepts
Nonresidents generally. International investors
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online application; mailed documents to International Operations, El Paso
Minimum
US$0 account minimum
In the institution’s own words
“European-domiciled UCITS ETFs are available for residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)” Source
The international products page lists bonds but not CDs, so whether international clients can buy CDs is not confirmed. The site refuses scripted requests; read in a browser.
Checked 2026-09-24.
Firstrade Securities Inc.
Flushing, NY · Brokerage
Who it accepts
Nonresidents generally. Non-US citizens who are not permanent residents and have no SSN or US tax ID
How to open
Opens remotely. The institution says online, by app, by email or by mail. Online
Minimum
No minimum stated for stock trading
In the institution’s own words
“You may sign up for an international account if you are not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, do not have a Social Security Number or Tax-ID Number.” Source
The page lists bonds and CDs among the products. It describes SIPC and excess-SIPC coverage and says nothing about FDIC insurance of the CDs.
Checked 2026-09-24.
How the directory is built
An institution is listed only when its own website or account documents say it takes customers who are not US citizens or residents, and the quote in each row was read on that page on the date shown. Each FDIC certificate was checked in the FDIC’s BankFind data, which reported every listed bank active as of June 30, 2026. An institution is left out when its site refused automated reading on the check date, when its program is only for people moving to the United States, or when a question about the institution was still open. The September 2026 edition comes from a screen of every active FDIC-insured bank and every federally insured credit union, 8,531 institutions in all. About a quarter of their websites could not be read by script, so an institution missing from the list may still take nonresidents. A script re-reads every source page and flags any quote that has changed, and the directory is rechecked each quarter.
Estate tax on deposits: 26 U.S.C. §2105(b)(1) and §871(i)(1) to (3) (deposits "with persons carrying on the banking business" whose interest is "not effectively connected with the conduct of a trade or business within the United States" are not US property for a nonresident not a citizen); §2104(a) and §2105(d)(3) (US fund shares are US property for deaths after December 31, 2011). Read 2026-09-24.
Income tax on deposit interest: 26 U.S.C. §871(i)(2)(A); reporting under Treas. Reg. §1.6049-8(a) and the 2026 Instructions for Form 1042-S (Rev. Proc. 2024-42 country list).
FDIC insurance: 12 C.F.R. §330.3(c) ("The availability of deposit insurance is not limited to citizens and residents of the United States"); FDIC, Your Insured Deposits (dated May 14, 2024).
Edge corporations: 12 C.F.R. §211.6(a)(1)(i) (an Edge corporation "may receive in the United States transaction accounts, savings, and time deposits (including issuing negotiable certificates of deposits) from foreign governments and their agencies and instrumentalities, and from foreign persons"); Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Structure and Share Data for U.S. Offices of Foreign Banks, March 2026 (Edge corporations, banking, in Miami).
Credit unions: NCUA credit union charter data, queried 2026-09-24; each credit union’s membership page, linked in its row.
Bank charters and certificates: FDIC BankFind institution data, report date June 30, 2026, queried 2026-09-24.
Eligibility: each institution’s own page or document, linked in its row and read on the date shown.
Data and citation
The data is free to reuse with credit under CC BY 4.0. The CSV file and JSON file hold all 44 rows, including the rate note for each institution, and the data dictionary defines each column.
Please cite this page as Klagge, Kevin D., US Banks and Brokers That Accept Nonresident Alien Depositors (2026), StepUpLaw, https://stepuplaw.com/data/us-banks-for-nonresidents/.
Klagge, Kevin D., US Banks and Brokers That Accept Nonresident Alien Depositors (2026), StepUpLaw, https://stepuplaw.com/data/us-banks-for-nonresidents/.
Corrections are welcome at [email protected]. A bank that wants its row changed should send the page on its own site that says so.
Compiled by Kevin D. Klagge, Esq., Fla. Bar No. 99502. Updated September 24, 2026. This is reference information, not legal, tax or financial advice, and reading it creates no attorney-client relationship. A listing is not a recommendation, no institution pays to be listed, and each institution decides for itself whether to open an account. Whether a deposit stays outside the US estate depends on facts a table cannot hold, including domicile, how the account is held and whether it is connected with a US business.